The Queen of Nothing

Title: The Queen of Nothing

Series: The Folk of Air

Author: Holly Black

Publication Year: 2019

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Final Verdict:


He will be destruction of the crown and the ruination of the throne.

Power is much easier to acquire than it is to hold onto. Jude learned this lesson when she released her control over the wicked king, Cardan, in exchange for immeasurable power.

Now as the exiled mortal Queen of Faerie, Jude is powerless and left reeling from Cardan’s betrayal. She bides her time determined to reclaim everything he took from her. Opportunity arrives in the form of her deceptive twin sister, Taryn, whose mortal life is in peril.

Jude must risk venturing back into the treacherous Faerie Court, and confront her lingering feelings for Cardan, if she wishes to save her sister. But Elfhame is not as she left it. War is brewing. As Jude slips deep within enemy lines she becomes ensnared in the conflict’s bloody politics, and when a dormant yet powerful curse is unleashed, panic spreads throughout the land, forcing her to choose between her ambition and her humanity…


**** SPOILERS FOR SECOND AND FIRST BOOK AHOY!****

Highly anticipated and jaw-dropping finale they said. Sure, my jaw did drop:

Honestly, Jude finally managed to get on my nerves this book. I’ve always had a feeling that she is one character who doesn’t exactly know what she wants or she is someone who finds it difficult to adjust to situations, and tries to fit in by changing for them. This book sort of solidified that point for me.

The previous book, the Wicked King was ruthless when it came to scheming and decision making. In this one, there is not much scheming or anything. I didn’t feel any tension in the air or the dread that comes with every final book. Possibly it’s because I am not as invested in the characters as I thought.

Jude is introduced as someone who is more fit for bloodshed, battle and schemes – the kind of person who is not that easily forgiving. The book had a strong start, actually. But, then it lost its thrill somewhere along the way. It’s not bad – but not as strong as the other books.

In this one, I understood her decisions and such, but she once again resigns to an easy person once Cardan enters the frame. I will never understand the hype surrounding this dude – he is like the faerie version of Domyouji Tsukasa from Hana Yori Dango[1].

Do you think a seed planted in goblin soil grows to be the same plant it would have in the mortal world?

~ Val moren

If someone asked me to choose between Isobel and Jude, I’d choose Isobel. I hate the fact that Jude considers being mortal as a big flaw or something. She tries to fit in the faerie realm than still be herself in faerie. She doesn’t stand upto Madoc like how Vivienne dares to. But, I can’t blame her too[2].

Oh, right… I finally understood what I’m feeling: confusion.

What I liked the most is Jude’s final choice. That was the one part of the book that felt like it had gone back to the times of The Wicked King. But, a big thank you to Holly Black for writing this adventure – the problem was that it did not grab me.

Vivi and Heather (surprisingly) were my favourite characters. We don’t see much interaction among the original spies either. And everybody got a happy ending. I expected as much, but the way people hyped it up made it seem as nerve wracking as Throne of Glass series. But, this is certainly a lighter read than that. I also liked how the world of faerie incorporated along with the mortals, but I would choose something closer to the Shadowhunters when it comes to ruthlessness.

I bid a hearty farewell to this series. Till next time!


SUPERSCRIPTS:

[1] Hana Yori Dango: A Japanese TV Series adapted from a manga of the same name.

[2] I assume it’s just how she is. I’d have to write my own book myself to get a character that I wish for.


Sincerely, Squeaky Blogger.

One thought on “The Queen of Nothing

Leave a comment