The Hate U Give


Title: The Hate U Give

Author: Angie Thomas

Final Verdict:

Publication Year: 2017

 

Oi, everyone! 😀
Before I start the review – please don’t kill me by seeing the star rating. And I don’t even know how to properly express my feelings without sounding completely stupid or ignorant. So, I am just going to straight out tell what I felt.

This book was enlightening. I don’t think that’s the correct word to describe it, but it brought out some certain subjects that most people are hesitant to talk about. Its not just about Police Brutality either. The Hate U Give also deals with the life of drug dealers and how they come to that choice in the end. And how the society views Blacks in general, their neighbourhood, etc.

Why I didn’t give the extra star is because I felt that something was missing somewhere. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but by the end of the book, it still hadn’t gone away. Starr was an interesting character, but there were times that I felt zoned out at certain parts of the book.

And people being classified as “black” and “white” was really uncomfortable for me to read about. I am a Person Of Colour, but seeing people being called out on the basis of their skin was sort of weird to me. Then again, I do not know much about how the outside world treats POC.
I am happy that Angie Thomas decided to come out with a book like this.

Overall, it was good. But, I couldn’t connect a lot with the characters. 😦

~ Sincerely,
Squeaky Blogger.

Leave a Reply

